The Rural 3.0 consortium involves 16 partners from 8 EU countries, where Higher Education Institutions and rural community organisations are equally represented.

This consortium was selected with three things in mind:

  • the competence of partners relevant to our project (the main criterion was whether the partner already teacher service-learning and/ or brings significant field-related expertise to the project
  • the presence of highly-motivated individuals from the Europe Engage project
  • the presence of rural organizations from each partner country that are representative of the existing rural interest groups, are highly integrated with their local communities and eager to provide a common ground for multiple points of service throughout a long-term commitment to bring about community development.

It is composed of:

  • 8 Higher Education Institutions (IPVC, PHWIEN, RSM, UAM, VMU, FFZG, UNIBO and SCE) with expertise in service-learning and/or social entrepreneurship. Together with the community partners, they will define new rural SL and SE courses and guide their students during the implementation and evaluation of the new academic module
  • 6 Local Action Groups (LAGs) that deliver the EU LEADER programme to support rural development projects initiated at the local level in order to revitalise rural areas and create jobs. LAGs function as multi stakeholder organisations encompassing private,  public and the civil sector aiming to support diversification of entrepreneurial activities in the rural areas, improved quality of life and biodiversity protection; they are grassroots and work with the rural population on developing innovative and environmentally benevolent entrepreneurial activities
  • 2 NGO foundations: Stichting Schutsluis Alblasserdam (Netherlands) and Plenum (Austria) that will share the experience and expertise in preparing action plans for the rural development, including many stakeholders: public administration, village council, politicians, residents, civil society.

Partners are:

  1. IPVC ESE (Instituto Politécnico de Viana do Castelo – ESCOLA SUPERIOR DE EDUCAÇÃO), Portugal, Coordinator,
    Linda Saraiva,  
  2. PhWien (Pädagogische Hochschule Wien), Austria,
  3. FFZG (Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences at the University of Zagreb), Croatia,
  4. RSM (Erasmus University Rotterdam Rotterdam School of Management), Netherlands,
  5. SCE (Strascheg Center for Entrepreneurship GmbH, Munich University for Applied Sciences), Germany,
  6. UAM (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid), Spain,
  7. VMU (Vytautas Magnus University), Lithuania,
  8. AG5 (Local Action Group), Croatia,
  9. LAG Ammersee (Local Action Group Ammersee), Germany,
  10. LAG Kaunas (Local Action Group Kaunas), Lithuania,
  11. LAG Galsinma (Local Action Group Galsinma), Spain,
  12. LAG AJD  (Local Action Group AJDeão), Portugal,
  13. SSA (Stichting Schutsluis Alblasserdam), Netherlands,
  14. Plenum (Gesellschaft für ganzheitlich nachhaltige entwicklung gmbh), Austria,
  15. UniBO (University of Bologna,) Italy,
  16. LAG L’Altra Romagna (Local Action Group L’Altra Romagna), Italy.